History | The Sun Met Top


History of the horse + racing in SAF

Quick chronological fact sheet.

  • 1883

    Met first run

    Originally known as The Metropolitan Mile.

  • 1886

    South African Jockey Club and South African Turf Club amalgamate

    South African Jockey Club and South African Turf Club amalgamate, home at Kenilworth.

  • Oct 1885

    South African Derby (PE)

    South African Derby (PE), Totalisator in operation for first time in October.

  • 1887

    Summer Cup first run

    Gold rush.

  • 1890

    Tote legalised in Cape

  • 1893

    Green Point

    Green Point race course last meeting.

  • July 1897

    Durban first run

  • 1904

    South African Jockey Club

    Moved to Johannesburg.

  • May 1908


    First meeting at Milnerton in May.

  • 1978, 1979


    Politician won twice consecutively 1978, 1979.

  • 2007, 2008, 2009

    Pocket Power

    Pocket Power won the Met 3 times consecutively 2007, 2008, 2009.

  • 2015


    Futura won in 2015 under top weight.

  • 2016

    Smart Call

    Smart Call is the filly that won 2016 beating Legal Eagle.

  • 2017

    Whisky Baron

    Winner of the Sun Met Race, ridden by Greg Cheyne and trained by Brett Crawford.

  • 2018

    Oh Susanna

    Ridden by Grant van Niekerk, Oh Susanna becomes the first 3-year-old filly to win the Sun Met Race since Maid of Honour in 1888.

  • 2019

    Rainbow Bridge

    The Anton Marcus-jockeyed Rainbow Bridge was the deserving winner of the 2019 Sun Met.

  • 2020

    One World

    Jockey MJ Byleveld and his horse, One World, won the 158th running of The Sun Met, outgunning international star Ryan Moore and defending champion Rainbow Bridge to the R3 million prize. It was trainer Vaughan Marshall's third Sun Met win.

158th running of the Sun Met Race coming in February 2020